[ccpw id="5"]

HomeClassic Car InvestTänak extands Rally Finland lead on Saturday morning

Tänak extands Rally Finland lead on Saturday morning


Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT driver Ott Tänak is still holding on to the Secto Rally Finland lead after the Saturday morning loop of four stages nearby the Jämsä region. Some changes have happened on the leaderboard since yesterday when the drivers were greeted with wet and challenging conditions but Tänak has still maintained the lead and he is holding off the three charging Toyota Gazoo Racing drivers behind.

Tänak won the all-new Vekkula stage that rounded-up the morning loop and he arrived to the mid-day service with a 9.5 seconds lead over Esapekka Lappi meanwhile Lappi´s fellow countryman and current championship leader Kalle Rovanperä has moved further up the order and sits in third now with 3.4 seconds behind Lappi. Rovanperä passed his teammate Elfyn Evans on SS12 and later had a high-speed moment when his Toyota skittered off the road, Evans sits now in fourth with 5 seconds after Rovanperä.

Hyundai´s Thierry Neuville has moved up to fifth place with a minute behind Evans after passing Takamoto Katsuta who is currently in sixth place, the two drivers gained a position when the M-Sport´s Craig Breen was forced to retire from the rally after hitting a cliff that teared apart the right rear-end on SS12.

Pierre-Louis Loubet is now the leading M-Sport driver and is currently in seventh place with teammate Gus Greensmith in eight, rounding up the top ten after the morning are the two local WRC2 drivers of Teemu Suninen and Emil Lindholm. Rally1 debutant Jari Huttunen has moved up to 16th overall and the unluck continues still today but this time with power steering issues and Adrien Fourmaux is down in 27th.

Top 10 after SS14:

Pos. Number Driver / Co-driver Country Team Model Class Time
1. #8 Ott Tänak / Martin Järveoja Estonia Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Hyundai i20 N Rally1 Rally1 1:27:13.8
2 #4 Esapekka Lappi / Janne Ferm Finland Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 Rally1 1:27:23.3
3. #69 Kalle Rovanperä / Jonne Halttunen Finland Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 Rally1 1:27:26.7
4. #33 Elfyn Evans / Scott Maritn UK Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 Rally1 1:27:31.7
5. #11 Thierry Neuville / Martijn Wydaeghe Belgium Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Hyundai i20 N Rally1 Rally1 1:28:42.3
6. #18 Takamoto Katsuta / Aaron Johnston Japan / UK Toyota Gazoo Racing NG WRT Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 Rally1 1:28:47.5
7. #7 Pierre-Louis Loubet / Vincent Landais France M-Sport Ford WRT Ford Puma Rally1 Rally1 1:29:36.0
8. #44 Gus Greensmith / Jonas Andersson UK / Sweden M-Sport Ford WRT Ford Puma Rally1 Rally1 1:29:43.4
9. #21 Teemu Suninen / Mikko Markkula Finland Hyundai Motorsport N Hyundai i20 N Rally2 WRC2 1:32:48.1
10. #20 Emil Lindholm / Reeta Hämäläinen Finland Toksport WRT Skoda Fabia Rally2 evo WRC2 1:32:53.8


Not Ready to Go Electric? No Worries. Here’s Why: | The Daily Drive | Consumer Guide® The Daily Drive

Relax. You don’t need to buy an electric vehicle (EV) now, or any time soon. If you’ve been keeping up with auto-related news, you...

It’s Your LAST CHANCE To Save 10% During Our SummerFest Dynamic+ Tuning Sale!

This entry was posted on August 16, 2022 by Kyle Espiritu. This is your LAST CHANCE to save 10% on all 034Motorsport Dynamic+ Software! The...

2022 Suzuki Baleno Shadow to send off popular light hatch

Suzuki Australia has revealed a special edition of the popular Baleno light hatchback ahead of its imminent departure from the Australian market. The Suzuki Baleno...

FIA confirms changes to the 2022 and 2023 F1 Technical Regulations

By Balazs Szabo on 16 Aug 2022, 19:04Formula One’s governing body, the FIA has today announced key changes to the 2022 and 2023...

Most Popular